Share this

Network and Specialty Group Contacts

Scotland is home to some of the world’s leading clinical and academic researchers. This section details our Research Champions and Specialty Group leads across key therapy areas. Further information on Networks and Speciality groups can be found in Research Areas.

Ageing
Specialty Lead: Dr Susan Shenkin
Email: susan.shenkin@ed.ac.uk  
Performance Manager: Sharon Southern
Email: Sharon.southern@nhs.net 

Anaesthesia
Specialty Lead: Dr Mike Gillies
Email: michael.gillies@ed.ac.uk
Performance Manager: Madeleine Bayne
Email: Madeleine.Bayne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Cancer
Research Champion: Professor David Cameron
D.Cameron@ed.ac.uk 
Network Manager:
West: Karen Bell
Email: karen.bell@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 
East: Dorothy Boyle
Email: Dorothy.Boyle@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk  
North: Kirsty Shearer
Email: kirstyshearer@nhs.net 

Cardiovascular
Research Champion: Keith Oldroyd
Email: keith.oldroyd@nhs.net 
Network Manager: Ewan Dougall
Email: Ewan.Dougall@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk 

Critical Care
Specialty Lead: Dr Mike Gillies
Email: michael.gillies@ed.ac.uk  
Performance Manager: Madeleine Bayne
Email: Madeleine.Bayne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Neuroprogressive and Dementia
Research Champion: Professor Peter Connelly
Email: peter.connelly@nhs.net 
Network Manager: Emma Law
Email: emma.law@nhs.net 

Dermatology
Specialty Lead: Dr Richard Weller
Email: Richard.Weller@ed.ac.uk  
Performance Manager: Sharon Southern
Email: sharon.southern@nhs.net 

Diabetes
Research Champion: Professor Rory McCrimmon
Email: r.mccrimmon@dundee.ac.uk  
Network Manager: Anna Barnett
Email: annabarnett@nhs.net 

Ear, Nose and Throat
Performance Manager: Sharon Southern
Email: Sharon.southern@nhs.net 

Gastrointestinal
Specialty Lead: Dr Charlie Lees
Email: lees@edinburghgastroenterology.com  
Performance Manager: Madeleine Bayne
Email: Madeleine.Bayne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Genetics
Specialty Lead: Dr Jonathan Berg
Email: j.n.berg@dundee.ac.uk 
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net 

Haematology
Specialty Lead: Dr Campbell Tait
Email: Campbell.Tait@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 
Performance Manager: Mary McAuley
Email: mary.mcauley2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 

Hepatology
Specialty Lead: Professor John Dillon
Email: j.f.dillon@dundee.ac.uk 
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net 

Infectious Diseases
Specialty Lead (Interim): Dr Charis Marwick
Email: c.z.marwick@dundee.ac.uk  
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net 

Injuries & Emergencies
Specialty Lead: Dr Alasdair Corfield
Email: a.corfield@nhs.net 
Portfolio Manager: Mary McAuley
Email: mary.mcauley2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 

Mental Health
Research Champion: Professor Stephen Lawrie
Email: s.lawrie@ed.ac.uk 
Network Manager: Catherine Deith
Email: Catherine.Deith@ed.ac.uk 

Metabolic & Endocrine Disorders
Specialty Lead: Dr Graham Leese 
Email: graham.leese@nhs.net  
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net

Musculoskeletal Disease
Research Champion: Stuart Ralston
Email: Stuart.Ralston@ed.ac.uk  
Network Manager: Joy Dawson
Email: Joy.Dawson@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Ophthalmology
Specialty Lead: Dr Roshini Sanders
Email: roshini.sanders@nhs.net 
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net 

Oral and Dental Health
Specialty Lead: Professor Jan Clarkson / Dr David Conway
Email: j.e.clarkson@dundee.ac.uk / David.Conway@glasgow.ac.uk 
Performance Manager: Sarah Kennedy
Email: sarah.kennedy17@nhs.net 

Pain
Specialty Lead: Prof Lesley Colvin
Email: l.a.colvin@dundee.ac.uk 
Performance Manager: Sharon Southern
Email: sharon.southern@nhs.net  

Paediatrics
Research Champion: Prof Jürgen Schwarze
Email: jurgen.schwarze@ed.ac.uk 
Network Manager: Dr Pamela Dicks
Email: p.dicks@abdn.ac.uk 

Primary Care
Research Champion: Professor Bruce Guthrie
Email: B.Guthrie@dundee.ac.uk 
Network Manager: Ellen Drost
Email: ellen.drost@ed.ac.uk 

Renal
Specialty Lead: Dr Patrick Mark
Email: Patrick.Mark@glasgow.ac.uk
Performance Manager: Mary McAuley
Email: mary.mcauley2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Reproductive Health
Research Champion: Vacant
Email: 
Performance Manager: Maria Amezaga
Email: maria.amezaga@nhs.net

Respiratory
Specialty Lead: Professor Adam Hill
Email: adam.hill@ed.ac.uk
Performance Manager: Madeleine Bayne
Email: Madeleine.Bayne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk 

Stroke
Research Champion: Dr Jesse Dawson
Email: Jesse.Dawson@glasgow.ac.uk
Network Manager: Claire McFarlane
Email: cmcfarlane@nhs.net

Surgery
Performance Manager: Madeleine Bayne
Email: Madeleine.Bayne@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk